1	SB11 Workgroup
2	Final
3	Minutes
4 5	The meeting was called to order on Contembor 2, 2015 at 0.00MM by Co Chain
5 6	The meeting was called to order on September 3, 2015, at 9:00AM by Co-Chair James Alcorn, State Board of Elections (SBE) Chairman and Co-Chair Matt Davis,
6 7	Department of Elections (ELECT) CIO. Attending were SB11 Workgroup members
8	Delegate Bill DeSteph, Deputy SOA Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr., Donna Patterson, Barry
9	Condrey, Alex Blackmore, Nathan Hand, Michael Watson, Barry Horowitz, and
10	Nicholas Vonpecman. ELECT staff support members present were Terri Harman,
11	Business Analyst and Rose Mansfield, ELECT Board Liaison.
12	
13	The first order of business was the approval of the minutes from the SB11
14	Workgroup meeting on June 23, 2015. Chairman Alcorn asked if the members had
15	any additions or corrections to the workgroup minutes. Mr. Condrey identified an
16	error in recording of the minutes stating that the word twofold should be changed
17	to two-factor to reflect the comment. Chairman Alcorn moved that the minutes be
18	adopted as amended. Mr. Davis seconded the motion and the members unanimously
19	approved the minutes.
20	
21 22	The first order of business was a presentation from Nathan Hand, Freewater
22	Technologies. Mr. Hand provided a computer generated presentation that identified particular issues and concerns related to the research of the SB11 workgroup. Mr.
23 24	Hand stated that his demonstration will validate that military members could vote
25	securely via the use of the internet. Mr. Hand explained the different options to
26	achieve this task and the advantages and disadvantages of each of the applications.
27	Discussion ensued among workgroup members regarding the viability and details of
28	the risk factors and costs associated to the concept electronic voting presented by
29	Mr. Hand.
30	
31	Chairman Alcorn stated that the concept of electronic voting is complicated by the
32	secret element of casting a vote and if an element of fraud was introduced it would
33 34	be impossible to track the missing vote back to the voter because of that element. Mr. Blakemore stated that with electronic transactions, the element of risk is built
34 35	into the system; however when it comes to the accuracy of the votes cast an element
36	of risk is not acceptable. Mr. Watson stated that the workgroup should initialize a
37	business plan before starting this program that lists the requirements. Workgroup
38	members agreed to work on business requirements documents.
39	
40	The next order of business was the Workgroup Report presented by Matt Davis,
41	ELECT CIO. Mr. Davis reviewed the documents presented to members in the
42	working documents. Discussion ensued among workgroup members regarding the
43	information contained in the documents and how the information applied to the
44 4 E	workgroup. Mr. Davis stated that the ELECT Staff is charged with completing the
45 46	following action items:
46	
	1

- Locate and send Absentee Processing Guidelines to workgroup Develop Requirements, Controls, and Risk Assessments documentation Research missing data from close election results Mr. Davis stated that once these actions items are complete they would be sent to the workgroup members. Delegate DeSteph expressed concern about the progress of the workgroup and stated that from a legislative standpoint the documents to be presented at the conclusion of the workgroup will require redevelopment before presentation to the General Assembly Session, 2016. Delegate DeSteph discussed the foundation of the workgroup and its expected goals. Co-Chair Alcorn asked if there were any further comments and there were none. Co-Chair Alcorn moved that the workgroup adjourn. Co-Chair Davis seconded the motion and the workgroup unanimously approved the motion. The next meeting of the SB11 Workgroup is set for October 13, 2015 at 10:00 AM at the Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, Virginia; Room B27. There being no further business, the SB11 Workgroup adjourned at 10:20AM. **Co-Chair James Alcorn**
- 74 Co-Chair Matt Davis